5 Comments

I'm already getting some great tips from this newsletter, as well as a sense of connection. It's good to know we're not alone in the struggles of finding a job after 50.

My biggest challenge when looking for a job was not getting discouraged or feeling like there was something wrong with me. I was qualified (on paper) for all the jobs I applied for, but I kept feeling lacking when I went through interviews but didn't get the jobs. For me, it was especially challenging that I quite often knew at least one person who was interviewing, because then it felt kind of embarrassing not to get the job.

I was looking while employed, but I wasn't happy in my job. I finally quit my job and set myself up as a consultant, and that's going well. I still have a challenge of worrying that I won't get enough work, especially anytime things slow down for a while.

A topic I'd like to see covered (if you haven't already) is appreciating and promoting your strengths. For example, these days everyone seems to think they have to be a CEO, or at least a "leader." Not everyone can or should be a leader. There are all kinds of roles, and we all have special gifts and experience to offer.

What makes me hopeful is connecting with like-minded people and remembering that most people want to help and do good!

Expand full comment
author

Thanks Rosana. So glad to have you here. I will think some more about your topic idea.

Expand full comment

I'm not sure I'll be answering your questions, but here are some of my random thoughts...

* I wonder if there's a more 21st century way people are applying for jobs. For example, are resumes and CVs still a thing that employers want to see from a candidate? Or do they want an online "portfolio" of the work they've done?

* I find hope in community, connections, etc. In short, people. They remind me I'm not alone.

* Now that I've done zoom interviews, what can I expect when meeting people in person? I've almost forgotten what that's like!

* How do I tactfully learn about the employer's approach to covid precautions? Do they want to see my vaccination card? Shall I wear a mask when I meet them in person -- or is it better to NOT wear a mask? How do we start that conversation without stepping on a political hot potato?

Expand full comment
author

Those are great points, Carin. I will see how I can incorporate them into Mighty Forces.

Thanks so much for being here.

Expand full comment

Hooray! I'd love to hear your thoughts as posts -- not just here in the comments section. Thanks, Adam!

Expand full comment